login or sign up


Country Introduction:

Austria is bordered by Germany and the Czech Republic to the north, Slovenia and Italy to the south, Slovakia and Hungary to the east and Switzerland and Liechtenstein to the west. The country consists of nine independent federal states. Each state has its own provincial government. The national Council along with the Upper House of Parliament carries out the federal legislation. Vienna is the capital city of Austria. The country mainly has a mountainous geography. Because of appropriate landscape and frequent snowfalls, skiing is considered one of the most popular sports in Austria, and attracts tourists from almost everywhere.

Department of State Link:

Physical Geography:
Culture and People:



Religion and Beliefs


Demography and Ethnicity

Institutions (e.g., family, government)

Gender and Sexuality

Higher Education

Hazards and Risks:
Health and Insurance:
Current Issues:
Cost of Living:
Historical Resources:
Additional Resources:
Getting Around Austria:

Additional Resources:

University of Central Florida
Office of International Studies
4000 Central Florida Blvd, Millican Hall room 107 Orlando, FL 32816
Telephone (407) 882-2300 | Fax (407) 882-0240 | studyabroad@ucf.edu