login or sign up


Country Introduction:

Ecuador, officially known in Spanish as República del Ecuador, directly translates to "the Republic of the Equator". Ecuador is bordered by Colombia on the north, Peru on the south-east, and the Pacific Ocean to the west. The country is also home to the Galapagos Islands, where Charles Darwin studied the vast number of species located on the archipelago. Ecuador has three main geographic regions: La Costa, La Sierra, and La Amazonia. Traditional dishes in Ecuador consist of soup, a plate of rice and meat, potatoes, plantains, and corn. Guinea pig (cuy) is also popular in the highland region.

Department of State Link:

Physical Geography:
Culture and People:



Religion and Beliefs


Demography and Ethnicity

Institutions (e.g., family, government)

Gender and Sexuality

Higher Education

Hazards and Risks:
Health and Insurance:
Current Issues:
Cost of Living:
Historical Resources:
Additional Resources:
Getting Around Ecuador:

Additional Resources:

University of Central Florida
Office of International Studies
4000 Central Florida Blvd, Millican Hall room 107 Orlando, FL 32816
Telephone (407) 882-2300 | Fax (407) 882-0240 | studyabroad@ucf.edu