login or sign up


Country Introduction:

 The Republic of Panama occupies the southernmost part of the Central American isthmus. It is bordered on the east by the Republic of Colombia and to the north by the west of Costa Rica. The Caribbean Sea meets Panama in the north, while the country’s southern shores border the Pacific Ocean. It is home to the Panama Canal, a ship canal that connects the Caribbean Sea to the Pacific Ocean.

The capital is Panama City, located in the eastern part of the country on its Pacific Ocean side. Located in the UTC-5 time zone, Panama has the same time as Washington DC during Standard Time.

Administratively, the country is divided into 9 provinces (or provincias). Legislative power is exercised by the unicameral 71-seat National Assembly (Asamblea Nacional).Executive power is vested in the president as both head of government and head of state. The Supreme Court of Justice (Corte Suprema de Justicia) is vested with the highest judicial authority.

With an area of 75,420 sq km and a population of 3,510,045 (CIA, July 2012), Panama has a population density of about 47 inhabitants per sq km. Approximately 95% of the population is of mestizo ancestry. English and Spanish are the most widely spoken languages with  Spanish being the republic’s official language. Over 85% of the population is recorded as Roman Catholic, with 15% as Protestant. 

Department of State Link:

Physical Geography:

Physical Map of Panama

Culture and People:



Religion and Beliefs


Demography and Ethnicity

Institutions (e.g., family, government)

Gender and Sexuality

Higher Education

Hazards and Risks:
Health and Insurance:



Current Issues:
Cost of Living:

Cost of Living in Panama

Historical Resources:
Additional Resources:

Getting Around Panama:

Additional Resources:



University of Central Florida
Office of International Studies
4000 Central Florida Blvd, Millican Hall room 107 Orlando, FL 32816
Telephone (407) 882-2300 | Fax (407) 882-0240 | studyabroad@ucf.edu